This decadent recipe I couldn’t  pass on.  They say a picture says a thousand words and  that is so true for this.  I posted other lemon recipes and there are myriads of the so called “lemon bar” recipe and I posted one myself. Who’s to say one lemon bar is better than the other.  This really intriques me when I saw the Lemon brownie.   It’s a different twist and I would think it would be sort of cake like…which I would love.   Anyway, on to the important thing is to post the recipe.

 The Brownie Batter
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
2 large eggs
2 tablespoons lemon zest

Tart Lemon Glaze
1 cup icing sugar
4 tablespoons lemon juice
8 teaspoons lemon zest

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray/grease an 8×8 baking dish.

Zest and juice 2 lemons set aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the flour, sugar, salt and softened butter until combined.

In a separate bowl whisk together the eggs, lemon juice and lemon zest until combined. Pour into the flour mixture and beat at medium speed until smooth and creamy, about 2 minutes.

Pour into baking dish and bake for 23-25 minutes, or until just starting to turn golden around the edges and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

When the brownies are cooled completely, make the glaze . Mix the icing sugar with the lemon juice and zest. Spread 1/2 the glaze over the brownies. Let the glaze harden and spread the remaining half.

About 2sassygal

First of all, I love to cook...not every night, but weekends are the best time to cook. I am a animal lover, especially wildlife. My next vacation would be to South Africa. To get personal and close up to wildlife would be fascinating. I like to read suspense, thriller novels. Regarding television....I like some reality shows, crime shows, comedies. I like to look at a recipe from a cookbook and do my version of it.. usually the healthier choice. I am all about substitutions, if a recipe calls for a ingredient there are dozens of ingredients you can substitute for the called-for ingredient. I like summer because I love cooking outdoors, swimming. It's just the fresh air that makes everyone want to get outside and do something. I love the air especially after the rain.... that nothing compares to that.

Leave a comment